top of page
  • Writer's pictureSandra Lopes

Are you brave enough?!

Leonie Morgan, author of the best-selling book Crochet Patchwork Textures, designed a beautiful crochet along for Deramores back in 2018. If you love crochet and you’d like to make this beautiful afghan, then this is the pattern for you! Incorporating an overlay technique, the result is a stunning piece of work made by crocheting individual squares of various sizes which are then joined together. This pattern is ideal for Intermediate Crocheters or Adventurous Beginners. Indulge your creative side with this beautiful crochet blanket pattern. A peaceful, meditative craft that is perfect for those quiet afternoons and evenings by the fireside.



When I saw this pattern I fell in love, actually I am biase when it comes to crochet. I bought the pattern right away but did'nt jump right in as I knew this was a technique I was not familar with. Leonie Morgan explains everything in such detail that all my doubts were evaporated instantly. She even has a glossary/index of all stiches used. I came to the conclusion that, this is not so bad, I can do this. There was one daunting tutorial that I had to hop over onto my "faithfull helper" search bar: Youtube. The misterious 3rd loop! After watching (I must confess I am more of a visual learner), ordering the yarn and setting up my project, I started my WIP.



It took me approx. 7 months to complete as I worked on this WIP in between my other projects. It was so much fun but it was also time consuming. I had to give priority to clients orders so had to put this sweety on the backburner many times. Joining this baby was a test of ones Patience. But I did it and I will be most truthfull with you I kept away from "granny squares" patterns. In the bottom image you can see how I laid it out, marked the stiches and used the zipper stitch to join all the square strips.




If you have read this far I will now share with you all the bits and stuffs you need to know.

You can find all deetails about this pattern here

It is a paid pattern and no video tutorials are available. If you have any hiccups like I did, Youtube is your best friend.




And now I show you my pride and joy, another one, all completed and officially a HOTH!


And for those that prefer a more 3D visual stimiluation you can watch the video below:



Hope you enjoyed this, until next time,


Peace and light and Happy Hooking






31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page